NaNoWriMo Masochism

I must be nuts, signing up for NaNoWriMo this year. For those of you who don’t know the acronym, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. For those who do, you are either a) pumped up and ready to roll, or b) cringing in sympathy.

NaNoWriMo is a month-long, balls to the wall approach for writers and encourages us not to overthink but just write. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. You “win” when you cross that finish line 30 days later. Doing the math, that’s 1,667 words a day.

Logically, I should be finishing my non-fiction book. I’m five chapters in and completely stalled. But I’m not logical. I’m an Aries-ENFP personality with ADHD. To say that I have impulse control problems is an understatement.

I’m writing crack fiction about an organized crime family. Why? Why would I put myself through a marathon writing experiment to write something that will never see the light of day? Because I want to let my hair down. Because I need to get my creative juices flowing again. Because I need to just write and not think. That is ultimately what NaNoWriMo is about.

If you don’t hear from me next month, it’s because I am knee deep in crack. Hopefully loving it. Possibly hating it.

Good luck to all my fellow WriMos. Kick some ass and if you need a writing buddy, look me up on the website under username chapmapb. We can help each other over that finish line.

Leave a Reply

