H is for Hibernation

“How can you stand the cold?” After moving to Minneapolis from San Francisco, everyone asks this.  I’m not sure if they expect me to crack from the pressure or if they are personally stunned to follow the crazy weather reports the last two years out of the North. When it reached -50 below zero with wind chill one night in January of 2014, the cold seeping in through the windows was disturbing.  I had my first doubts about our move from the Bay Area and wrote a blog for the Write On Mamas about “Eight Minutes To Frostbite”.

To be fair, I talk about the cold weather a lot but what most friends and colleagues don’t understand is that I’m not complaining (really, I’m being serious here). It is fascination, almost bordering on obsession, with the fact that I live in an area where I get Twitter alerts from the National Weather Service about hypothermia, frostbite and death.

Growing up in the foothills of Colorado, snowstorms would blow through hard and fast but then the sun would shine brightly in that beautiful blue sky and it would be 60 degrees again with everyone in flip flops and shorts. 

First thing I did after moving to the Twin Cities was to buy a new wardrobe courtesy of North Face and REI. No need for a 3/4 length down parka that rivaled the Stay-Puft marshmallow man in Northern California. 

Second thing I did was indulge my love of hibernation. Snuggling in bed on a freezing cold morning, drinking coffee, reading stories on my iPad, and wearing pajamas until dinner time and then realizing there is no need to change for bed.  Yes, cold weather definitely has its perks.

2 thoughts on “H is for Hibernation

  1. Well, Paula, you’re a better man than I! I grew up in New England, and have never looked back once landing in the temperate Bay Area. Just recently I was back for a visit–it was a warm spell in Vermont, up to 21 degrees during the day. I was not sad to make my escape back to the land of wimps. But you do have a point about the joys of hibernation.

    http://shrinkrapped.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, how I can relate. We lived in northern Wisconsin one winter. We were at a camp, so there were many things to do outside and we had a lot of fun. But it was just so damn cold. I do love the Northwoods, though. Enjoyed your blog.

    Visiting from A to Z blog challenge

    siouxsiesmusings.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

